Election 2020: Urgent call for your involvement

It goes without saying that the 2020 election is critical for not just the nation but for Florida and for education. To quote Becky Pringle, President of the National Education Association (NEA), speaking at the United Faculty of Florida (UFF) virtual Senate meeting this week:

“We need a new president. We need a new president. And elections run through Florida. I need you to step up in this moment and be the strong voices that you are. Social Justice is on the ballot.” And with regard to education, “All that Betsy DeVos has done to education is on the ballot…I have talked to Biden and Harris both. They are committed to our public schools and higher education…I’m asking you to show up in this election and to bring people with you. We can not have four more years of Betsy DeVos. Our students are depending on us to be worthy of them and I know that we are.”

In addition to voting for candidates that support public and higher education, UFF urgently needs funding to continue the fight by lobbying and supporting Florida politicians that support our educational interests. The recent primary season really drained the UFF-PAC fund. UFF is asking for your contributions. Here is how you can contribute:

Read more information on the UFF-PAC and how your contributions are put into action!

Mark your calendars

Make sure to attend the next FUSA meetings during Fall term:

Sept. 25 – 9am
Oct. 23 – 9am

The meetings will be held online via Zoom. Meeting links will be set out prior to the meeting.

These Hilarious Zoom Memes Are Way To Real - Your Therapist IRL | Memes

FUSA meeting 8/28 9am

FUSA Council will hold the August monthly meeting on Friday, August 28th, via Zoom at 9:00 a.m.  Guests are invited to attend. Please check you email inbox for the invitation.

We’ll “see” you there.

Welcome Back!

The 2020-21 academic year is upon us! Don’t forget to sign up to attend the the virtual FUSA meeting from 12-1pm (8/13/20). Check your HCC email for the invite from CITT and make sure to enroll for the FUSA Meeting.

Contract MOU approved

A message was sent out via HCC email by FUSA on Aug 4th regarding the vote tally.

Faculty voted to approve the memorandum of understanding (MOU) between the faculty and administration of HCC.

FUSA thanks you for your participation.

Meet our newly tenured faculty!

Well-deserved congratulations are in order for the following faculty members for having earned tenure. Well done!!

Benjamin Barrett – Dale Mabry                            Joel Lacivita – Ybor City

Emily Brown – Dale Mabry                                   Kaleena Landry – Dale Mabry

Amanda De La Serna – Dale Mabry                    Steven Salengo – Dale Mabry

Angela Eward-Mangione – Brandon                   Peter Sleszynski – Plant City

Robert Farley – Dale Mabry                                  Sherrie Slom – Brandon

John Frank – Dale Mabry                                      Mary Watts – Dale Mabry

Sheila Hajari – Dale Mabry                                   David Wingfield – Dale Mabry

Joseph Kitchens – Plant City

And, if you haven’t signed up already:
How to sign up for FUSA Informant updates in 3 easy steps

Rank & Promotion

FUSA congratulates the following faculty members on earning rank & promotion:

Tonni Bacoat-Jones
Jennifer Bess
Marianne Caldwell
Patrick Cureton
Leslie Eckstein
Debarti Ghosh
Sarah Gonzalez
Fred Jaeger
Todd Joseph
Craig Kasper
Theresa Lewis
Sharon Moran
Darryl Myles
Bridget Mullen
April Muchmore-Vokoun
Kristina Nappi
Thea Nicolaides
Judith Nolasco
Laurie Pierce
Janet Sibol
Shelly Stein
Gwen Suarez
Michelle Thompson
Misty Vorder Brueggee

FUSA election results for 2020-21

Congratulations to the following faculty members and thank you for serving the faculty and the college. Your term officially begins August 1, 2020.

President: Elizabeth Key-Raimer
Vice-President: David Flanigan

Dale Mabry Council: Walt Ellis, Eric Fiske, Ken McCullough, Sharon Moran, Susan Pierce-Amaral, Janet Sibol, Sheryl Sippel, Rebecca Todd, John Whitlock

Ybor Council: Jeremy Bullian, Rick Gaspar, Judy Nolasco, Tom Tankersley

Brandon Council: Kristin Heathcock, Sami Kadamani, Janet Willman

Plant City Council: Charity Freeman, Teresa Galloway

SouthShore Council: Denise Bristol, Wendy Pogoda

UFF Senators: Jeremy Bullian, TaMetryce Collins, Charity Freeman, Teresa Galloway, John Hardin, Sami Kadamani, Theresa Lewis, Ken McCullough, Bryan Shuler, Rebecca Todd

FEA Delegates: Charlene Bell, Jeremy Bullian, Lorenzo Carswell, John Hardin, Tom Tankersley. Alternates: Eric Fiske, Theresa Lewis, Rebecca Todd

Remember, all faculty are welcome at FUSA meetings. Come and participate in your union!