Contract MOU approved

A message was sent out via HCC email by FUSA on Aug 4th regarding the vote tally.

Faculty voted to approve the memorandum of understanding (MOU) between the faculty and administration of HCC.

FUSA thanks you for your participation.

Meet our newly tenured faculty!

Well-deserved congratulations are in order for the following faculty members for having earned tenure. Well done!!

Benjamin Barrett – Dale Mabry                            Joel Lacivita – Ybor City

Emily Brown – Dale Mabry                                   Kaleena Landry – Dale Mabry

Amanda De La Serna – Dale Mabry                    Steven Salengo – Dale Mabry

Angela Eward-Mangione – Brandon                   Peter Sleszynski – Plant City

Robert Farley – Dale Mabry                                  Sherrie Slom – Brandon

John Frank – Dale Mabry                                      Mary Watts – Dale Mabry

Sheila Hajari – Dale Mabry                                   David Wingfield – Dale Mabry

Joseph Kitchens – Plant City

And, if you haven’t signed up already:
How to sign up for FUSA Informant updates in 3 easy steps

Rank & Promotion

FUSA congratulates the following faculty members on earning rank & promotion:

Tonni Bacoat-Jones
Jennifer Bess
Marianne Caldwell
Patrick Cureton
Leslie Eckstein
Debarti Ghosh
Sarah Gonzalez
Fred Jaeger
Todd Joseph
Craig Kasper
Theresa Lewis
Sharon Moran
Darryl Myles
Bridget Mullen
April Muchmore-Vokoun
Kristina Nappi
Thea Nicolaides
Judith Nolasco
Laurie Pierce
Janet Sibol
Shelly Stein
Gwen Suarez
Michelle Thompson
Misty Vorder Brueggee

FUSA election results for 2020-21

Congratulations to the following faculty members and thank you for serving the faculty and the college. Your term officially begins August 1, 2020.

President: Elizabeth Key-Raimer
Vice-President: David Flanigan

Dale Mabry Council: Walt Ellis, Eric Fiske, Ken McCullough, Sharon Moran, Susan Pierce-Amaral, Janet Sibol, Sheryl Sippel, Rebecca Todd, John Whitlock

Ybor Council: Jeremy Bullian, Rick Gaspar, Judy Nolasco, Tom Tankersley

Brandon Council: Kristin Heathcock, Sami Kadamani, Janet Willman

Plant City Council: Charity Freeman, Teresa Galloway

SouthShore Council: Denise Bristol, Wendy Pogoda

UFF Senators: Jeremy Bullian, TaMetryce Collins, Charity Freeman, Teresa Galloway, John Hardin, Sami Kadamani, Theresa Lewis, Ken McCullough, Bryan Shuler, Rebecca Todd

FEA Delegates: Charlene Bell, Jeremy Bullian, Lorenzo Carswell, John Hardin, Tom Tankersley. Alternates: Eric Fiske, Theresa Lewis, Rebecca Todd

Remember, all faculty are welcome at FUSA meetings. Come and participate in your union!

Legislative action needed!

Update from UFF:

HR 1 will be heard by House State Affairs Committee tomorrow morning at 8am tomorrow (Feb 13) in Morris Hall (17HOB) This bill would prohibit automatic renewal of union memberships and require members to refile paperwork every year.   This is union-busting pure and simple.   Please do what you can to call/email or otherwise communicate with legislators to make your view known.  We are joined in opposition by our Union brothers and sisters in all areas from State Employees to Pipefitters to First Responders.  Email can be reached through each member’s webpage: